Saturday, October 1, 2011

LEA FULL SIM ART SERIES (OCTOBER): Rebeca Bashly's 'Inferno'


The LEA FULL SIM ART SERIES, and 'little brother' UWA FULL SIM ART SERIES, kick off in October with Rebeca Bashly's 'Inferno' and jjccc Coronet's 'jjccc Art'

Rebeca Bashly's 'INFERNO'
Opening Date & Time: 6pm slt, Saturday 1st October
Nakoto Exonar's Machinima 'Inferno' on Rebeca's Build
Japanese Blogger Temi Sirbu on Inferno (Part II)
Japanese Blogger Temi Sirbu on Inferno (Part III)
Second Russia Blog on Inferno
Machinima by jjccc Coronet, 'The Hell of Rebeca Bashly' 
Quan's Travelogues
I Derryth's Blog
Kara's Korner
Rosetta Ricci Flickr Photo Set of Inferno (200 images)
SL Newser Design Review
From Japan to SL
SL Newser
University of Texas at San Antonio Blog
Machinima By Sliennedunord on Inferno
Machinima By Zarrakan  'Dante's Inferno'
Machinima By MoanaLittleBoots 'Dante's Inferno'
Caledonian Journey Blog (Rhianon Jameson)
Honour McMillan's Blog
Fuzonacid Machinima
Cecil Hirvi Machinima 'A Placid Ocean of Uncertain Liberties'
The Karro Lean's Blog (French)

jjccc Coronet's 'jjccc Art'
Opening Date & Time: 7pm slt, Saturday, 1st October
jjccc Art a 'Featured Event' on the Linden Lab Destination Guide
On UWA Blog
Victoria Lennoire Review 
TOXX News Site 
Temi Sirbu on jjccc Coronet's Art 
A NicoleX Moonwall Machinima of jjccc Coronet's Installation 
Another NicoleX Moonwall Machinima of jjccc Coronet's Installation 
Yet another NicoleX Moonwall Take on jjccc Coronet 

In Rebeca's words, "If I wanted to do descriptions and explanations I would be a writer, but I am a builder and this text is generously provided  by Flora Nordenskiold."

Rebeca Bashly’s work Inferno is a nine-level work based upon the nine circles of suffering described in the Inferno, the first part of Dante Alighieri’s Fourteenth-Century poem, the Divine Comedy. The nine circles of the Inferno (or Hell) are located within earth and are separated into three parts, representing three types of sin; self-indulgent sins (the first five circles), violent sins (circles six and seven) and malicious sins (circles eight and nine).

The journey starts off in the dark woods, where we first meet Virgil, the poet, who will guide us in our travels to the underworld and through the nine circles of hell. The grey, threatening seeming forest consists of barren trees, with suffering faces as an integral part of their trunks. On our journey, we will continue seeing Virgil, not only as a guide, but also a teleport, transporting us through the nine circles of hell. We eventually enter hell through the Gate of Hell, noting the inscription “abandon all hope” above the gate. The entrance is large and dark, lending a sense of doom.

The first circle, Limbo, is a region on the edge of hell and it is meant for those who did not accept Christ, in some sense it is a lesser form of Heaven. The stone castle with the seven gates, representing seven virtues, is large and dark. We enter from a bridge and then find ourselves standing in a yard, with a grass ground, in front of groups of white, translucent figures sitting on the grass in the dark; these are some of the great thinkers, wise men, scientists, poets and philosophers. Entering the castle, we first come across Homer and Socrates. As we continue, climbing winding stairs, we see other white, translucent figures, there is even a child in a closet at the bottom of the staircase.

The second circle, Lust, contains those led astray by lust; these are the first ones truly punished in hell. We find ourselves standing in a barren, moonlike landscape, on the edge of a large, deep hole, out of which a reddish, translucent whirlwind of faces appear. These faces seem to be in great agony and distress. Here we witness the conflict of love and lust and the tension between attraction and desire.

The third circle, Gluttony, is a space for those involved with self-indulgence and addiction. This is a gloomy place where people lie scattered in a brownish area containing vile slush and mud produced by a never-ending muddy rain. There is a sense of doom and darkness hovering over these people suffering in their own misery.

The fourth circle, Greed, contains two groups of those plagued by over-consumption; those who hoard and those who waste. We witness a struggle here; people pushing large, heavy balls in a barren, grey landscape. They seem to be going nowhere, yet appear to be investing an enormous amount of effort. There is no winner and it never ends. This is a place where people punish and insult each other, but without effect. This group is ultimately the most offensive to the spirit of love.

The fifth circle, Anger, is represented by those who can no longer find joy; those who express anger (wrath) and those who repress it (sullenness). We find here groups of deadly pale individuals covered in blood, biting off each others' flesh, clearly in agony and struggling. They are situated in the Stygian marsh, in the swamp-like water of the river Styx. There is a sense of intense frustration.

The sixth circle, Heresy, is a location where violent and malicious sins are punished. We find at the entrance to the ironclad walls of the city Dis three blood covered figures with threatening heads; these are the three furies. Once we pass them, we are inside the city, surrounded by people trapped in flaming tombs. We can see here Farinata, extending and towering out of his tomb and Cavalcante, who only lifts his head above the edge of his tomb.

The seventh circle, Violence, consists of three rings; outer, middle and inner. The outer ring represents violence against people and property; those staying there are punished, resulting in a river of blood. This ring is guarded by the violent Centaurs, men from the waist up with lower bodies of horses. The middle ring holds violence against self; these persons are living in a horrid forest. Harpies, foul creatures with the head of a woman and body of a bird, are perched in suicide trees. The inner ring symbolizes violence against God and nature; those situated there find themselves on barren sand ignited by sparks of fire.

The eight circle, Fraud, can be reached only by descending a vast cliff on the back of Geryon, a winged monster with mixed human, bestial and reptilian nature. Those guilty of deliberate evil are located in Malebolge (evil pockets), which in turn is divided into ten Bolgie, or ditches of stone, with bridges spanning the ditches. The ten bolgie contain seducers, flatterers, those committing simony, false prophets, corrupt politicians, hypocrites, thieves, fraudulent advisers, sowers of discord and various kinds of falsifiers.

The ninth circle, Treachery, contain those who have committed acts which involve betraying some kind of special relationship. We see these traitors being frozen in a green-blue, or teal, colored lake of ice known as Cocytus. Ice spikes surround them. In the very centre of Hell, condemned for committing the ultimate sin, personal treachery against God, is Satan. Satan presents with three faces (black, red and yellow), a large imposing figure, beating his six wings; this act is ultimately what causes the river Cocytus to freeze.

1 comment:

  1. Hello! Add my blog to your list)